13th Response

Karsen Vawter
Mar 11, 2021

--

I had personally already seen this Documentary, but it was just as powerful the second time watching it. The main premise for this documentary was the sky rocketing number of incarcerations, in particular for drugs, and how many of those prisoners are African-American Men. The statistic that stuck with me throughout the entire documentary is that the United States is home to 5% of the worlds population, and 25% of the worlds imprisonment. The documentary touches on the Civil Rights Movement and civil liberties, and is very eye opening to how wrong our current judiciary system is.

--

--

Karsen Vawter

Hey! My name is Karsen Vawter and I am currently a junior at UMW. I am from Williamsburg, VA and am hoping to major in Communications and Digital Studies.